Florence School District One
Go Search
Web Part Page Title Bar image
Kindness Celebration Moore Intermediate

What started out as a mission to bring literacy into every classroom through the school-wide reading of R.J. Palacio’s book, Wonder, became a movement of kindness at John W. Moore.  Kindness is the theme of this captivating story about 10-year-old Auggie Pullam who suffers from a craniofacial syndrome.  Auggie’s ability to be kind and see the good in everyone including those who bully him really connected with the hearts of John W. Moore’s faculty, students and staff.  Robyn Heffernan, the school’s literacy coach, worked with the instructional leadership team at John W. Moore to create the “Kindness Celebration” which was held on Wednesday, December 14th. Students wore Wonder t-shirts designed by sixth grade artist, Desire’ Johnson as a symbol of their #choosekind message. Fifteen classrooms were recognized as a Certified Kind Classroom which was sponsored by the KICK team, a group of young ladies led by Mrs. Brandy Winstead.  State Farm’s Betsy Enzor and Taylor Johnson from the Kind Revolution organization in Florence presented forty students with the “Spirit of Kindness Award”.  This award was given to one student from every homeroom that exemplifies kindness on a daily basis, without the need of attention or praise.  This honor was followed by the “Citizenship Award” given by Principal Carol Schweitz to sixth grader, Jaden Brunetti, for her outstanding leadership in bringing kindness to our school and community through her creation of the OGD (Operation Good Deeds) club.  The celebration was rounded out with an amazing performance of the song “Wonder” by Moore’s very own Destiny Nwankudu and the largest known FSD1 Mannequin challenge that included 1000 participating parents, teachers, administrators, community leaders and students.



List of student names who received the Spirit of Kindness Awards:

Mya Daniels, Matthew Cloud, Kaitlyn Morris, Tinsley Edens, Kinsey Carraway, Kyndal Coleman, Chris Woods, Brianna Stokes, Mikayla Lynch, Bella Chandler, Laine Chandler, Grace Seabolt, Rachel Herod, MaNiya McKnight, Maddox Davis, Tyler Brand, Lauren Page, Lins Bao, Maddie Petty, Amari Jordan, Caroline Myers, Dylan Pappas, Sanjana Guzzarlamudi, Malakyhy Graham, Marcelo Gonzalez, Sarah Howard, Brooke Jones, Ellie Medlin, Shaleigh Lacy, Courtney Clemson, Kelly rMolnar, Dawson Young, Sterling McLendon, Christopher Ji, Centrea Haddon, Chandler Jones, Kamryn Evans, Maddie Martone, Samantha Wong


Select an image to view slideshow...


The mission of Florence District One is to Educate! Prepare! Inspire!
Florence School District One
319 South Dargan Street
Florence, South Carolina 29506-2586

Telephone: 843-669-4141
Fax: 843-673-1108
Contact Us