Florence School District One
FacebookTwitterYouTubeFSD1 Google Apps for EducationFSd1 MoodleInstagram

The Florence Public School District One Board of Trustees 


The Florence Public School District One Board of Trustees is composed of nine members who meet regularly once a month to make decisions which set the direction of the district in many areas.  They are charged with policy making, planning, goal setting, providing school buildings, and adopting an annual budget to finance instructional programs and services.  They must also be familiar with important legal decisions as well as state and national legislation and regulations.

Board members are elected according to a single member district plan.   Florence One is divided into nine districts, and elections are held in 3 districts on a rotating schedule. Board members are elected for a four year term of office.

Regular monthly Board of Trustees meetings are held on the 2nd Thursday of each month (unless changed by a board majority vote).  The meetings are held in the John T. Sullivan Board Room at 319 S. Dargan St., Florence, SC . The meetings begin at 7:00 P.M.


Board members are elected for four-year terms.
Below is a list of the current Board members and the expiration date of their terms:

Name Election District Term Expiration
Mr. Barry Townsend District No. 1 2020
John Galloway District No. 2 2020
Rev. E.J. McIver District No. 3 2018
Elder Alexis D. Pipkins, Sr. District No. 4 2020
Mr. Glenn Odom District No. 5 2020
Mrs. Trisha C. Caulder District No. 6 2018
Mr. Porter Stewart District No. 7 2020
Mr. Bryan Chapman District No. 8 2018
Mr. Will McLeod District No. 9 2018


The Mission of Florence District One is to Educate! Prepare! Inspire!
Florence School District One
319 South Dargan Street
Florence, South Carolina 29506-2586

Telephone: 843-669-4141
Fax: 843-673-1108
Contact Us